Friday, August 13, 2010

Charlie Brown Porn

I planted my garden back in April. Everything is growing really well despite a lot of other people's bad luck with gardens this year.
My pumpkins have been going crazy. I've only got 2 (so far), but they're growing fast...possibly gonna be ready before Halloween.

Started with some Richie fertilizer:


If I close my eyes...honk honk!

Late at night, I like to put my banana on my pumpkins....

Holy crap.

Sunday, August 8, 2010

Glenhaven, Me and Socks McGee

Today was a big day in the process of rehabbing my ankle.
Chris (Socks McGee) and I met at Glenhaven skatepark a little after 6am for one of our morning geezer sessions. We had the whole place to ourselves for a solid 2 hours.
I started getting butterflies (soccer belly!) around 4am in anticipation of skating the bowls again.
We started with a quick warm up session in the street section, mostly dropping in, doing kickturns and early grabs off the corner of the pyramid. Socks McGee demonstrates the early grab (and his extra comfort heel socks) here:

After warming up, we moved to the bowl. This is what I've been looking forward to since breaking my ankle. I was worried I wasn't going to be able to ride the bowls (or anything, really) till Fall/Winter...and even then, it'd probably be too rainy to skate outside anyways.
As today demonstrated, that's no longer a concern. Not to say I wasn't concerned. I was freaked out.After that first drop in, most of the nervousness gave way to pure joy. It felt soooo good to surf around the bowls again. Socks had a really good session, nailing down some little frontsides (god dammit!) on the walls and some board-slides. I felt good just carving.
Socks McGee:

Saturday, July 31, 2010

Changing of the Guard

Yesterday I switched my decks out. I retired my Daddie's board. Lots of memories with that one. That board ushered in a new era of skating for me. Riding the half pipe at my home, skating Chris' garage mini, dropping into bowls (and skating them!) , learning new tricks and making new (old) friends.
I also broke my ankle on that board. On the night that was meant to be my last on it.
Prior to that disaster, I received an awesome new Lance Mountain deck from Chris for my birthday. It's been hanging on my wall since I broke my ankle. Motivating and mocking me.
Now that I can skate again, I decided it was time to break it in. Maybe poor choice of words. Sticky grip tape and my trucks felt really responsive. It was awesome. Made my night.
I'm hoping by the end of the summer I'll be close to where I was before I broke my ankle. At the very least, I'm gonna have some more memories (and owies) from this board.

Sunday, July 25, 2010

Physical Therapy


Chris stopped by earlier in the week to flaunt his two working legs and the fact that he's doing some little frontsides now. I couldn't take it. So I laced up my new ankle brace, slipped on my knee pads and headed to the local truck stop...I mean, skated the half pipe! I skated! A month and change removed from having surgery on my broken ankle. Science? Will you go steady with me?
Also? I start "normal" physical therapy on Tuesday. I may or may not disclose my private sessions.
Posted by Picasa

Soon

Posted by Picasa

Friday, July 23, 2010

All Systems Are GO! (Kinda)

I had a Doctor's appointment last Tuesday. For my ankle. The clinic isn't open on Tuesdays.
I was looking forward to this appointment because 3 weeks prior, the doc had told me that I should be walking on that day. At that point I confided in her that I had already been walking...sometimes. She looked at me and didn't say anything for a second. Then, she said "Let pain be your guide". Awesome. I broke down into tears as I realized the implications of that on life itself. Just kidding, I took it as carte blanche to do whatever I wanted with my ankle.
So that was three weeks ago. I've been walking ever since with minimal crutch assistance. I went to my latest appointment on crutches just to be safe.
As I sat in the lobby making small talk with other gimps of varying degrees, who probably really needed their crutches. I felt a little guilty. Before the conversation got too awkward, I was called back to get some x-rays.
When I got back to the x-ray room, I leaned my crutches against the wall and walked about 5' over to the table. The guy freaked out.
"Woah, woah! What're you doing, did the Doctor tell you that was okay?!"
"Uhh". I was too cavalier with my walking! "She told me to let pain be my guide?"
By now I'm laying on the table. He's in disbelief as to how short a time it's been since my surgery, but my answer seemed to put him at ease. Carte. Blanche, baby.
After x-rays I was able to see the doc. She said everything looked really good and she was impressed with how little swelling there was.
Then she told me I could put my crutches down and attempt to walk. So I did. Without hesitation. Without a limp. Whoops.
"Did you bring those crutches in for show? So that you wouldn't get in trouble?"
"Yes. Yes I did."
"Well, I can't get you in trouble, because everything looks great!"
I was so relieved. In the back of my mind, I was worried I had pushed it a bit too much and maybe one of the screws had backed out or the plate had shifted. But all was in it's place. Awesome.
I walked out of the Doctor's office, carrying my crutches, right past all those poor suckers in the lobby.
Up next? Physical therapy.

Saturday, July 17, 2010

Half Pipe. Full Murder.

Posted by Picasa

It has begun. The halfpipe has gotten a taste for blood and mayhem after breaking my ankle a month ago. It's now turned to murder.

I went out back to do some yard work this evening and found the corpse of this bird on the ramp. The ramp dared me to call the police. I don't know what to do. It's out of control. I'm hoping that soon I'm going to be able to ride again and may bere-establish who's really in charge here. That, or I'll start a blog documenting my broken arm.

Monday, July 5, 2010

4th Of July CHAMPS!

What better way to celebrate our freedom than an evening of fireworks, bbq and beer pong? Being the Champions of Beer Pong. That's how.
Chris and I have trophies to prove our championship mettle. Also? I don't know if I'm going to wind up with more pictures of cats, my ankle or Chris with a wiener in his mouth. It's gonna be close.

Friday, July 2, 2010

Sometimes You Think You Have True Love and Then You Catch the Early Flight Home From San Diego and a Couple of Nude People Jump Out of Your Bathroom

Same name. Same receding hairline. Same family? Noooooooo!!! Who is this impostor?! I left Oklahoma and missed my photo shoot! Carrie, how could you? The children don't even seem to notice...sob...and flannel under a sport coat with jeans? Really? THAT'S GENIUS! You speak to all of your constituents that way! Well. I can see the best man won. Carrie was a terrible kisser anyways. Ryan Leonard 2010 (and forever)!

Sunday, June 27, 2010

2 Cat Posts in a Row

I wish I could say that I didn't watch all ten minutes of this video showing cats carrying super heavy fish on a Japanese game show. But I did...and it was worth it.
While watching the video (pretty sure the 3 commentators are all drunk on sake) I kept wondering "what's beyond that hill that all the kitties are coming from"? Some sort of kitty paradise? Also that white kitty is totally getting laid.
Watch for the lurking cats at about 3:50 and 6:40...reminded me of a Friday night.

*poached from i09

Saturday, June 26, 2010

Blissfully Unaware...


I'm just like you Oscar...sniff...we're the same. I feel like the last line the vet says is spoken directly to me...

Fairy Frankenankle

I got my staples taken out on Tuesday. I seem to be healing pretty well...I can even gimp around my house without my crutches for short periods of time! Unless my doctor is reading this. In which case I use my crutches 100 percent of the time.
I've also been able to water my garden and plant a few more tomatoes, though taking the garbage out is still not possible. Maybe next week.
Here's a pic right after the staples were taken out:

And here's one from tonight. My thanks to the Cassell seesters for the bandages...given to me about 5 hours before I broke my ankle.

Friday, June 25, 2010

I mean. Seriously.


That thing didn't stand a chance. Om nom, nom, nom...
Posted by Picasa

Scene of the Crime


Oh, what a surprise...a picture of Chris with a weiner in his mouth.
Posted by Picasa

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

June 21st is Go Skateboarding Day. God. Dammit.

I get emails from California Cheap Skates every 2 days or so. They've taken a mocking tone the last two weeks or so, as they keep reminding me that they sell stuff. For skateboarding.
The last two e-mails I've received have been the worst, as they reminded me that June 21 is Go Skateboarding Day. I'm trying to not make it Feel Sorry for Myself day. I'm actually tempted to get a t-shirt and perhaps do something in honor of the day.
In the meantime, tonight is going to be my first day back at work. It's possibly Go Take a Shower Day. Possibly.

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

First Doctor's Appointment!

Today was my first post op. The doctor was very happy with my lack of swelling and I seem to be healing pretty well. She gave me a few exercises to do as well. Pretty exciting because it feels like I'm already healing. Though you wouldn't know it by the few dozen staples I currently have in my leg.
If you're squeamish, don't scroll too far down, as I've posted the pic of my Frankenstein ankle. Enjoy!





CLICK HERE FOR EYE BLEACH!!!

Monday, June 14, 2010

What...wait...what?

While watching the Japan vs Cameroon game (congrats Japan!) , they showed some Japanese fans who...uhhhh, thought the World Cup was a bowling tournament? I don't know. But she(?) looks happy enough that it turned out to be a soccer game. I'm strangely attracted to...that.

Sunday, June 13, 2010

USA! USA!



Yesterday officially marked 2 weeks that I took steps to enhance my ankle. With metal and scars. Sara and I (myself? I need to review English lit) chilled with Chris and Mila Mom to watch the US vs England in the World Cup during the nicest day of 2010 so far.
It was a pretty awesome game even though it ended with a tie. I've officially been brainwashed. I've even enjoyed 0 - 0 games. Maybe because the score looks like boobs?

The US was lucky to come away with a tie, however, as the English goalie let a ball trickle right passed him. At least I know I'll be walking again in 6 weeks. This guy will mysteriously not return from South Africa. Three lions indeed.

After the game I went outside with everyone and removed my shirt to soak up some sun (and terrify small children...or everyone. Mostly everyone).Chris was kind enough to remind me what I was missing on a day like today. What a good friend.

Friday, June 11, 2010

In the beginning...

I broke my ankle memorial day weekend on Saturday May 29, 2010.
It was a beautiful clear night, a lot of friends and family came over to celebrate a belated birthday/housewarming party.

I started this blog because, well, because I've frankly got the time and my cat is sick of answering my questions about what pajamas I should wear today. I also want to document the progress I make and activities I'm able to do from couch and eventually back onto my skateboard. Did I not mention that yet? I did this on (mostly off) my skateboard on the half pipe here at my house.

My life partner Chris and I were messing around (skateboarding, too many people around for what you're thinking) on the ramp all night without pads. We had been working on frontside airs the last couple of weeks and had been getting closer and closer.
It was about 8pm, my guests were all enjoying (or pretending to) the evening air, beers and each other. Now was the perfect time to be a bad host and ignore them for a bit of skateboarding. Chris and I strapped on (easy now) our pads and took turns dropping in and trying our frontside airs. Long story short, the last one I tried was probably the closest I ever got...I'll always remember it. But mostly I'll remember the popping sound, the way my ankle flopped from side to side. Then my girlfriend Sara worriedly (but with a "this was inevitable" look) hovering over me, Chris handing me a beer and our buddy Buckner poking me with his foot like I was a dead hooker. I'm not a hooker. Any more.

Then next few hours and realizations went pretty quickly. My initial thought was "I broke my ankle" then I tried to convince myself it was a bad sprain. After 2 hours I knew better and was convinced by friends and Sara to go to the ER. I was seen almost right away and the news was bad (as you already know). I was told by the dreamy Dr. Tony that it was in fact broken. I then had to wait 3 more days to go to the bone doctor (my high school nick name) due to the holiday.
Her analysis was that I needed surgery because my bone (I know, I know) had shifted and I needed some screws (again, I KNOW).

After another 3 days of waiting and not healing (VERY frustrating) I had surgery on Saturday June 5, 2010. It was a 2 hour procedure. I was told that I now had 8 screws and a plate in my ankle. Holy. Crap. Not what I expected. I thought it was gonna be 3 or 4 screws, even that seems like a lot at my age. Thank yew! Thank yew!
So here I am, almost 2 weeks later. I've watched the entire Avatar: The Last Airbender series (I hope the movie doesn't suck). My insides have been backed up. I've been nauseated, puking and a bit depressed. But I've also been inspired to get off my ass as soon as I can so I can get back on my skateboard. I've been very lucky to have the friends and family I've wound up with. From visits, texts to yard work, meals and groceries being donated to me.

The next few months are still gonna suck. I've got physical therapy and possibly some setbacks to look forward to. But I've also got some fishing, world cup watching, and not walking with crutches to look forward to.

Hopefully in a few months I'll be posting pictures of me skateboarding again. This is mostly for my own documentation so I can remember how crappy this was in the beginning. So if you don't like long blog posts or double entendres, you can go work on your own short post.
(Full disclosure: totally didn't land the one in the picture either).