I wish I could say that I didn't watch all ten minutes of this video showing cats carrying super heavy fish on a Japanese game show. But I did...and it was worth it.
While watching the video (pretty sure the 3 commentators are all drunk on sake) I kept wondering "what's beyond that hill that all the kitties are coming from"? Some sort of kitty paradise? Also that white kitty is totally getting laid.
Watch for the lurking cats at about 3:50 and 6:40...reminded me of a Friday night.
*poached from i09
The story of a man, his broken ankle and his journey to skateboard again. Also? Kitties and wieners.
Sunday, June 27, 2010
Saturday, June 26, 2010
Blissfully Unaware...
I'm just like you Oscar...sniff...we're the same. I feel like the last line the vet says is spoken directly to me...
Fairy Frankenankle
I got my staples taken out on Tuesday. I seem to be healing pretty well...I can even gimp around my house without my crutches for short periods of time! Unless my doctor is reading this. In which case I use my crutches 100 percent of the time.
I've also been able to water my garden and plant a few more tomatoes, though taking the garbage out is still not possible. Maybe next week.
Here's a pic right after the staples were taken out:
And here's one from tonight. My thanks to the Cassell seesters for the bandages...given to me about 5 hours before I broke my ankle.
I've also been able to water my garden and plant a few more tomatoes, though taking the garbage out is still not possible. Maybe next week.
Here's a pic right after the staples were taken out:
Friday, June 25, 2010
Wednesday, June 16, 2010
June 21st is Go Skateboarding Day. God. Dammit.
I get emails from California Cheap Skates every 2 days or so. They've taken a mocking tone the last two weeks or so, as they keep reminding me that they sell stuff. For skateboarding.The last two e-mails I've received have been the worst, as they reminded me that June 21 is Go Skateboarding Day. I'm trying to not make it Feel Sorry for Myself day. I'm actually tempted to get a t-shirt and perhaps do something in honor of the day.
In the meantime, tonight is going to be my first day back at work. It's possibly Go Take a Shower Day. Possibly.
Tuesday, June 15, 2010
First Doctor's Appointment!
Today was my first post op. The doctor was very happy with my lack of swelling and I seem to be healing pretty well. She gave me a few exercises to do as well. Pretty exciting because it feels like I'm already healing. Though you wouldn't know it by the few dozen staples I currently have in my leg.
If you're squeamish, don't scroll too far down, as I've posted the pic of my Frankenstein ankle. Enjoy!




CLICK HERE FOR EYE BLEACH!!!
If you're squeamish, don't scroll too far down, as I've posted the pic of my Frankenstein ankle. Enjoy!
Monday, June 14, 2010
What...wait...what?
Sunday, June 13, 2010
USA! USA!
Yesterday officially marked 2 weeks that I took steps to enhance my ankle. With metal and scars. Sara and I (myself? I need to review English lit) chilled with Chris and Mila Mom to watch the US vs England in the World Cup during the nicest day of 2010 so far.It was a pretty awesome game even though it ended with a tie. I've officially been brainwashed. I've even enjoyed 0 - 0 games. Maybe because the score looks like boobs?
The US was lucky to come away with a tie, however, as the English goalie let a ball trickle right passed him. At least I know I'll be walking again in 6 weeks. This guy will mysteriously not return from South Africa. Three lions indeed.
After the game I went outside with everyone and removed my shirt to soak up some sun (and terrify small children...or everyone. Mostly everyone).
Chris was kind enough to remind me what I was missing on a day like today. What a good friend.
Friday, June 11, 2010
In the beginning...
I broke my ankle memorial day weekend on Saturday May 29, 2010.It was a beautiful clear night, a lot of friends and family came over to celebrate a belated birthday/housewarming party.
I started this blog because, well, because I've frankly got the time and my cat is sick of answering my questions about what pajamas I should wear today. I also want to document the progress I make and activities I'm able to do from couch and eventually back onto my skateboard. Did I not mention that yet? I did this on (mostly off) my skateboard on the half pipe here at my house.
My life partner Chris and I were messing around (skateboarding, too many people around for what you're thinking) on the ramp all night without pads. We had been working on frontside airs the last couple of weeks and had been getting closer and closer.
It was about 8pm, my guests were all enjoying (or pretending to) the evening air, beers and each other. Now was the perfect time to be a bad host and ignore them for a bit of skateboarding. Chris and I strapped on (easy now) our pads and took turns dropping in and trying our frontside airs. Long story short, the last one I tried was probably the closest I ever got...I'll always remember it. But mostly I'll remember the popping sound, the way my ankle flopped from side to side. Then my girlfriend Sara worriedly (but with a "this was inevitable" look) hovering over me, Chris handing me a beer and our buddy Buckner poking me with his foot like I was a dead hooker. I'm not a hooker. Any more.
Then next few hours and realizations went pretty quickly. My initial thought was "I broke my ankle" then I tried to convince myself it was a bad sprain. After 2 hours I knew better and was convinced by friends and Sara to go to the ER. I was seen almost right away and the news was bad (as you already know). I was told by the dreamy Dr. Tony that it was in fact broken. I then had to wait 3 more days to go to the bone doctor (my high school nick name) due to the holiday.
Her analysis was that I needed surgery because my bone (I know, I know) had shifted and I needed some screws (again, I KNOW).
After another 3 days of waiting and not healing (VERY frustrating) I had surgery on Saturday June 5, 2010. It was a 2 hour procedure. I was told that I now had 8 screws and a plate in my ankle. Holy. Crap. Not what I expected. I thought it was gonna be 3 or 4 screws, even that seems like a lot at my age. Thank yew! Thank yew!
So here I am, almost 2 weeks later. I've watched the entire Avatar: The Last Airbender series (I hope the movie doesn't suck). My insides have been backed up. I've been nauseated, puking and a bit depressed. But I've also been inspired to get off my ass as soon as I can so I can get back on my skateboard. I've been very lucky to have the friends and family I've wound up with. From visits, texts to yard work, meals and groceries being donated to me.
The next few months are still gonna suck. I've got physical therapy and possibly some setbacks to look forward to. But I've also got some fishing, world cup watching, and not walking with crutches to look forward to.
Hopefully in a few months I'll be posting pictures of me skateboarding again. This is mostly for my own documentation so I can remember how crappy this was in the beginning. So if you don't like long blog posts or double entendres, you can go work on your own short post.
(Full disclosure: totally didn't land the one in the picture either).
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
